Tue 08 October

Four Grand Final winners make Kiwis squad

Four Grand Final winners make Kiwis squad

Four of the NRL Grand Final-winning Sydney Roosters squad have been selected for New Zealand ahead of Rugby League World Cup 2013.

The quartet includes former Hull FC prop forward Sam Moa, who has eight caps for Tonga, including against Samoa in April.

Along with Moa, Roosters winger Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has been given a first call-up by coach Stephen Kearney but their club-mate Shaun Kenny-Dowall will miss the tournament because of a fractured jaw he picked up in the Grand Final.

There are also seven New Zealand Warriors players in the Kiwis squad under head coach Stephen Kearney, who spent four years with the club as a player.

Jeremy Smith is absent for personal reasons and Benji Marshall, so long a key figure in the national team, signed in the summer for rugby union's Auckland Blues.

Sonny Bill Williams will not feature in New Zealand's defence of the Rugby League World Cup after telling selectors he had "other commitments".

The 28-year-old, who helped the Sydney Roosters win Sunday's NRL Grand Final,  is tipped for a return to rugby union.

Williams started his career in league, winning an NRL title with the Canterbury Bulldogs before quitting to play rugby union in 2008.

However, ex-Wigan half-back Thomas Leuluai and Greg Eastwood, who had a spell with Leeds in 2010, are both included in the 24-man squad which will be captained by Simon Mannering.

The Kiwis face Samoa at the Halliwell Jones Stadium in Warrington on October 27, France at Parc des Sports in Avignon on November 1 and Papua New Guinea at the Headingley Carnegie Stadium in Leeds on November 8.

To make sure you'll #bethere buy now at www.rlwc2013.com/tickets or call the 24-hour Ticket Hotline on 0844 847 2013.

Squad: Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury), Kieran Foran (Manly), Alex Glenn (Brisbane), Bryson Goodwin (Rabbitohs), Tohu Harris (Melbourne), Josh Hoffman (Brisbane), Krisnan Inu (Canterbury), Shaun Johnson (Warriors), Sam Kasiano (Canterbury), Thomas Leuluai (Warriors), Kevin Locke (Warriors), Issac Luke (Rabbitohs), Simon Mannering (Warriors), Ben Matulino (Warriors), Sam Moa (Roosters), Jason Nightingale (St George), Frank-Paul Nu'uausala (Roosters), Frank Pritchard (Canterbury), Elijah Taylor (Warriors), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Roosters), Manu Vatuvei (Warriors), Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Roosters), Dean Whare (Penrith).

Four Grand Final winners make Kiwis squad


Rugby League World Cup
Sat 23 NovNew Zealand 20-18 England
Sun 17 NovSamoa 4-22 Fiji
Sat 16 NovEngland 34-6 France
Fri 15 NovNew Zealand 40-4 Scotland
Mon 11 NovFrance 6-22 Samoa
Sun 10 NovWales 24-28 Cook Islands
Sat 09 NovEngland 34-12 Fiji
Fri 08 NovNew Zealand 56-10 Papua New Guinea
Thu 07 NovScotland 22-8 USA
Tue 05 NovTonga 22-16 Cook Islands

more results