Mon 09 December

Foran is Kiwi player of the year

Foran is Kiwi player of the year

Kieran Foran has been named the winner of New Zealand Rugby League's supreme award. As NZRL Player of the Year Foran is also the second recipient of the Steve Watene Memorial Medal, which was first awarded to the Player of the Year (Jeremy Smith) in 2012.

Foran has played 15 tests for the Kiwis since debuting in 2009, and this year captained the Kiwis twice - against Australia in Canberra in April and against Papua New Guinea at Rugby League World Cup 2013.

Although still only 23, he has also been a part of a successful NRL premiership winning side, with the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles in 2011, and played in all six of the Kiwis' RLWC2013 matches, as well as the warm up game against the Cook Islands.

Foran played for the Ellerslie Eagles club in Auckland as a youngster before perfecting his game alongside his neighbour, NSW State of Origin representative Mitchell Pearce, in Sydney.

Dean Whare, who had an outstanding RLWC2013 at centre, playing in five games and scoring three tries, will probably be best remembered for his 'Matrix-like' flick pass to Roger Tuivasa-Sheck which led to the Kiwis first try in their semi final against England.

Whare, who moved to Australia from Rotorua when he was ten, made his debut for the Kiwis in Townsville in 2012. He played for Manly from 2010-2012 before moving to the Penrith Panthers in 2013.

Amongst the other winners on the night Junior Kiwi Tuimoala Lolohea was named Junior Player of the Year while the three NZRL National Competition awards went to Mathew Faitotoa - Domestic Player of the Year 16s; Paul Ulberg - 18s and Saimon Lomaloma - Premiers.

Shane Rehm was awarded Match Official of the Year for the third time, having won the award in 2010 and 2012. Rehm, an international referee, regularly officiates at NZRL National Competition, NSW Cup and Holden Cup games, and this year, a Holden Cup finals match. He is also an NRL touch judge.

Sarina Fiso topped off an award winning year, having been named Manurewa Womens Player and overall Club Player of the Year she was tonight named NZRL Womens Player of the Year, an award which she also won 2010.  Fiso, a member of the Kiwis Ferns Leadership group and Vice Captain for their RLWC2013 campaign was also named in the Womens RLWC2013 team at fullback.

The huge contribution the clubs and their volunteers make to the game was once again recognised, with awards made to the Otara Scorpions, Grassroots Club of the Year; Tasha Tasmania and Teaukura Moetaua - Volunteers of the Year Female and Male.

There were two special presentations made on the night. The Annual Recognition Award was made to long serving NZRL staff member, one time player and referee Kevin Bailey, who was joined by his family for the occasion.  The other was to the 2013 NZRL's Distinguished Service Award recipients - Sharon Bird, Richard Bolton, Bob Dragecivich, Graham Lowe ONZM, QSM, and Christine Panapa.

Kiwi Player of the Year: Kieran Foran
Kiwi Rookie of the Year: Dean Whare
Junior Player of the Year: Tuimoala Lolohea
Domestic Player of the Year 16s: Mathew Faitotoa
Domestic Player of the Year 18s: Paul Ulberg
Domestic Player of the Year Premiers: Saimon Lomaloma
Womens Player of the Year: Sarina  Fiso
Match Official of the Year: Shane Rehm
Volunteer of the Year - Male: Teaukura Moetaua
Volunteer of the Year - Female: Tasha Tasmania
Grassroots Club of the Year: Otara Scorpions

Note: Judging period did not include RLWC2013

Foran is Kiwi player of the year


Rugby League World Cup
Sat 23 NovNew Zealand 20-18 England
Sun 17 NovSamoa 4-22 Fiji
Sat 16 NovEngland 34-6 France
Fri 15 NovNew Zealand 40-4 Scotland
Mon 11 NovFrance 6-22 Samoa
Sun 10 NovWales 24-28 Cook Islands
Sat 09 NovEngland 34-12 Fiji
Fri 08 NovNew Zealand 56-10 Papua New Guinea
Thu 07 NovScotland 22-8 USA
Tue 05 NovTonga 22-16 Cook Islands

more results