Thu 30 January

Greek Rugby League hold awards night

Greek Rugby League hold awards night

Giorgin Shyti has been awarded the Player of the Year trophy by the Hellenic Federation of Rugby League at a ceremony in Athens to commemorate the completion of their inaugural domestic season.

Over 100 guests were present together with the Deputy Mayor for Sports for the municipality of Nikaea-Rendis (Pireaus), Mr Nikolakis and club presidents.

Those domestic players who took part  in the ground-breaking international win over Hungary - Iordanis Bilikaidis, Giorgin Shyti, George-James Stilianos, Kostantinos Lambrakis, Panagiotis Karefilis, Dimitrios Minadakis, Ioannis Nake and Mihalis Chatziioannou – were given special presentations.

HFRL President Tasos Pantazidis outlined planned growth for the competition for the next two years which will see an expansion to the domestic championship and a development programme for junior and youth players. The board of Directors of the Federation made the following awards:

Player of the Year 2013: Giorgin Shyti 

Team spirit: George-James Stilianos

Coach of the Year: Matthew–Alan Ashill

Referee of the Year: Konstantinos Fytas

Player most improved: Konstantinos Asprogerakas

Award for the decisive contibution to the establishment of the Hellenic Rugby League: Anastasios Pantazidis

Champions 2013: Promitheas Rendi

9s Cup winners: Rhodes Knights

Greek Rugby League hold awards night


Rugby League World Cup
Sat 23 NovNew Zealand 20-18 England
Sun 17 NovSamoa 4-22 Fiji
Sat 16 NovEngland 34-6 France
Fri 15 NovNew Zealand 40-4 Scotland
Mon 11 NovFrance 6-22 Samoa
Sun 10 NovWales 24-28 Cook Islands
Sat 09 NovEngland 34-12 Fiji
Fri 08 NovNew Zealand 56-10 Papua New Guinea
Thu 07 NovScotland 22-8 USA
Tue 05 NovTonga 22-16 Cook Islands

more results